O Fortuna!

I armour myself and look upfront
Ages of toil show on my face
Through the pain, not so much as a grunt
Yet, I’m never one to win the race.

I’ve crawled to reach you from regions wide
I’ve longed to see a glimpse of your grace
I’ve longed to see your merciful side
I’ve longed to see fewer hopeless days.

I’ve brought myself to you in all view
I’ve longed to see your face smile for me
I’ve longed for mighty favours from you
Now all I want is to set me free.

O Fortuna! Hear my plea; I am weeping as I kneel.
Don’t make me look like yet another imbecile.

7 thoughts on “O Fortuna!

Leave a Reply

